Skip to content Donate

Conserving nature through science and outreach

Board of Directors

President: Jay Brogan, M.Sc., R.P.Bio.wildresearch2016agm_lesliebolpics-46_1

Jay completed his M.Sc. in Wildlife Biology/Ecotoxicology at Simon Fraser University investigating the impacts of persistent organic pollutants on raptors of the Lower Mainland. He has led and been a part of various wildlife research projects, including monitoring seabirds on remote islands and surveying for endangered frogs. He is interested in using wildlife as a tool to monitor environmental health.

Jay has served on the board since 2012.

Treasurer: Emily Missyabit McAuley, M.Sc.WR_Portraits-11

Emily is conducting her Ph.D. at Simon Fraser University. She is studying the indirect effects of fish on harlequin ducks during the breeding season. She also has a background in sexual selection and entomology from her Master’s work at Carleton University. She is interested in the use of Indigenous knowledge, data-sharing, collaboration, and citizen science to create interdisciplinary solutions to ecological issues.

Emily has served on the board since 2012.

Secretary: Renae Mackas, B.Sc., B.I.T.WR_Portraits-5

Renae graduated with a B.Sc. from Simon Fraser University in 2008 with a B.Sc. During her degree, she focused her studies on Ecology and Evolution, and was involved with research on altitudinal migration in American Dippers. She has additional experience working on fish biology in Alaska and British Columbia, and education experience in Mexico.

Renae has served on the board since 2014.

Director: Virginia Noble, M.Sc.WR_Portraits-12

Virginia Noble graduated from University of British Columbia with her M.Sc. in 2013. Her thesis examined the effects of tropical forest fragmentation and land-use change on leaf litter decomposition and nutrient cycling. She also has studied predator-prey interactions and cross-ecosystem interactions using the strawberry poison frog as a model organism.

Virginia has served on the board since 2014.

Director: Andrew Huang, M.Sc.wildresearch2016agm_lesliebolpics-38_1

Andrew completed his M.Sc. at the University of British Columbia studying the population genetics and rodenticide exposure risk of barn owls in the Lower Mainland. He is interested in sustainable and responsible development that respects wildlife and safeguards their habitat. He is also a big fan of city biking, public transportation, and cats.

Director: Courtney Lahue, B. Tech.wildresearch2016agm_lesliebolpics-39_1

Courtney completed her B. Tech. in Ecological Restoration at the British Columbia Institute of Technology. Her capstone project involved the restoration of MacKay Creek Estuary in Burrard Inlet. Courtney spends a lot of time working with non-migratory Canada geese and other waterfowl species throughout BC.

Director: Angela Bond, B.Sc.wildresearch2016agm_lesliebolpics-26_1

Angela completed two B.Sc. at Acadia University in Nova Scotia; one in Biology and one in Environmental Science. She has several years of professional experience in the environmental sector, with a background mainly in wetlands and aquatic field work. As a Wildlife Biologist, she has been involved in various bird and other wildlife surveys and projects throughout Nova Scotia and Alberta.

Director: Myles Lamont, B.Sc.wildresearch2016agm_lesliebolpics-23_1

Myles Lamont is a wildlife biologist, zoologist and naturalist hailing from the west coast of British Columbia. He completed his Bachelor of Science at the University of the Fraser Valley majoring in biology and ecology, a past recipient of Wildlife Preservation Canada’s fellowship program, recipient of the International Wild Waterfowl Associations outstanding service award and an active member in many wildlife organisations and NGO’s. He is a Certified Wildlife Biologist, a registered Environmental Professional and registered Applied Science Technologist. Working professionally as both a wildlife biologist and a zoologist, he has a strong passion for wildlife conservation, reintroduction biology and the management of threatened species. He has worked both internationally and domestically on wildlife conservation projects, from arctic and boreal Canada to the tropical forests of the Indian Ocean. He founded his own wildlife consulting company in 2012, working as an independent biologist on various wildlife projects around Canada and abroad. He recently returned from working in Kugluktuk, Nunavut with the Government of Nunavut’s Department of Environment on caribou, muskox and Arctic raptors